THE GREAT GADFLY:

Behind the Music:
The Great Gadfly



I've been thinking about the future of my career a lot lately, and I think I'm going to give my employment agency a call today and tell them that I want to be one of those wan, insightful music journalists featured on VH-1 rock countdown specials - you know the ones, always glad to share the special ingredient of Lenny Kravitz's sexiness or letting us in on secrets like "a lot of people feel Eminem thrives on controversy."

I can do that! And I can do it well! And my hair's looking really cute these days, to boot!

I've been boning up on my flair-for-the-obvious skills, and I think I have what it takes to stand alongside the ranks of even the most legendary television musicologists.

Here, see what you think:

Gadfly on Madonna: When Madonna walks on a stage, everyone is clear on one thing: Holy crap, that's Madonna!

Gadfly on Michael Jackson: I really think Michael Jackson has a lot on his plate - he's not like you and me - at least he isn't like me.

Gadfly on The Beatles: You know, as long as they were writing and performing songs, they couldn't go wrong.

Gadfly on Christina Aguilera: I think the thing that's really important to remember about Christina, after all, is that she is very much a woman. To think otherwise is to deny her gender, and I think that's really unfair.

Gadfly on Marilyn Manson: If you took away the make-up, the latex, the foam breasts, the neon contact lens, the giant spider stilts and the rubber costumes, he's really just like anyone else.

Gadfly on Eminem: What he does is like what so many people have done in the past, only with Eminem it's different because it's now.

Gadfly on Creed: I think you can really only put down a band like Creed if you don't like them. Otherwise, what's the point?

Gadfly on Pink: I think this young woman has a lot to say, because every time she opens her mouth, she tells us something. It may not be something we care to hear, but that doesn't stop her from saying it. And that's really kind of neat.

Gadfly on The Strokes: When they released their album, they just had this whole energy of, "hey - we made this record and we want you all to hear it". And some people did just that. Not everyone. But some people. A lot of people, actually. And then The Strokes were like, "hey, thanks for buying our album." - And I just thought that was great.

Gadfly on Ryan Adams: You knew for certain that when he sang "New York, New York", he wasn't singing about any other city on earth. Because the truth was in the title. There's no denying that, I'm sorry.

Gadfly on Nirvana: They were unique in that they made music unlike anyone else. That was the formula behind their signature style, you see. It's kind of like when you Google yourself.

Gadfly on Boy George: If you give this guy a hat, he's happy for hours. If you give this guy a hat and some pie, watch out. This is just speculation.

Gadfly on the future of music: I think that the future of music is entirely dependent on who will be making music in the future. I mean, if it's somebody who makes good music, then I think the future of music is going to be very promising. But I also think that if we have bad musicians in the future, we will not be so lucky. So really, if you think about it, and I have - a lot - there's no way of knowing what the future of music will hold. But that's just me and my opinion. I could be wrong. I'm no psychic. I just love music.




2003-10-14 - Last Haiku
2003-10-09 - Don't Cry Out Loud
2003-10-09 - Sit Down, You're Making Me Nervous
2003-10-08 - I'm Sure Miss Thing, I'm Sure
2003-10-07 - Carbonated Water, Caramel Color, Aspartame

index
archives
profile
Uffish
Jonno
Kiera Bombshell
Wonderboy
Dogpoet
email
notes
design
host

chicago blogs