THE GREAT GADFLY:

The Flapping Gun



So tonight at my new job, I had a discussion with two of my co-workers, in which one of them was convinced that Neil Armstrong did not in fact walk on the moon, but rather the whole thing was shot on a Hollywood soundstage in an attempt to fool the world into believing we beat Russia to the moon. Her smoking gun was the suggestion that the American flag that was famously planted into the moon's surface was flapping, and flags just don't flap in space. I tried suggesting that the flag he planted into the moon's surface was a pre-flapped starchy flag, like maybe NASA put a regular flag in front of a fan and aimed some space-age spray starch at it in mid-flap, but she wasn't having any of it. Then my other co-worker chimed in and said that it was absolutely possible for a flag to flap on the moon if you used a flag with cheap fabric, and I then agreed with the brilliance of this theory, adding that with the money they saved by using a cheap flag on the moon, they were then able to launch a successful mission.

Flustered, my conspiracy theorist co-worker furrowed her brow and then said, "well...what about ATLANTIS???"

Oh, I like my new job.


2003-10-14 - Last Haiku
2003-10-09 - Don't Cry Out Loud
2003-10-09 - Sit Down, You're Making Me Nervous
2003-10-08 - I'm Sure Miss Thing, I'm Sure
2003-10-07 - Carbonated Water, Caramel Color, Aspartame

index
archives
profile
Uffish
Jonno
Kiera Bombshell
Wonderboy
Dogpoet
email
notes
design
host

chicago blogs