THE GREAT GADFLY:

I Don't Know What That Was All About



So, well, okay.

A couple of you might have noticed that I haven't written anything for two or three weeks, and that things got a little wonky for a while, and then I locked the gates to Gadflyland for a while, and that things are kind of a bit more...RED...than they used to be.

I believe in making changes with subtlety, you see. I don't like sudden, abrupt, slam-on-the-brakes changes. No siree, not me.

So anyway, I can explain:

I've been going through a bit of a spiral lately, particularly where work is concerned. It's difficult for me to write the kinds of things I want to write, because I just don't have the energy at the end of the day to commit my thoughts to structure, and I just don't have the time during the day anymore to sneak in a manifesto or two on the sly.

Meanwhile, the thoughts just keep on popping into my head, and my imagintation has been all dressed up with nowhere to go. I've been noticing that my thoughts have been smaller lately, and my desire to rant rant rant has been overtaken by a desire to talk about little things of late - hot mango chutney, blades of grass, the dust gathering on my screen door. I have a reputation for blathering about the big things, but I've been really attracted to the little things. I wanted to create a weblog style diary so I could just blurt out my little mental tapas, and I wound up frustrated in a formatting hell. And so that's where the locking of the diary came in. It was just depressing.

So I decided ultimately just to slap on a new coat of paint and see what happens. And here I am. It's a little bare in here right now, but I'm digging on the new apartment smell.

And so anyway, yeah. That's the deal. Sorry for the inconvenience. More heartfelt blather to come anon.


2003-10-14 - Last Haiku
2003-10-09 - Don't Cry Out Loud
2003-10-09 - Sit Down, You're Making Me Nervous
2003-10-08 - I'm Sure Miss Thing, I'm Sure
2003-10-07 - Carbonated Water, Caramel Color, Aspartame

index
archives
profile
Uffish
Jonno
Kiera Bombshell
Wonderboy
Dogpoet
email
notes
design
host

chicago blogs