THE GREAT GADFLY:

10 Things I Remember About Squeezebox




The freaks came out at night...

1. The music of DJ Miss Guy - Dancing to jitterbug music, followed by Nine Inch Nails, followed by ELO. This is what will be on the radio if I go to Heaven when I die.

2. Watching Kembra Pfaler from The Voluptuous Horror of Karen Black singing an AC/DC song while some tweaked-out audience member burst into tears and started wailing, "you rawk SO hard....omigod, you rawk SO HARD!!!"

3. The first drag tribute I'd ever seen to Pat Benatar, followed by the most tragic drag tribute I'd ever seen to Courtney Love.

4. Debbie Harry sightings galore, including one night when I walked her to her '78 Chevy Impala when the night was through. She was wearing a tiara. Why wouldn't she?

5. Completely disinterested go-go boys dancing on the bar in makeshift Boy Scout uniforms, writhing dispassionately while lost in conversation with gal-pals sitting at nearby barstools.

6. Misstress Formika drunkenly ending the evening with that Rage Against The Machine "fuck you, I won't do whatcha tell me" song for the umpteenth time...a hoot and a half every performance.

7. The guy who did a Bowie tribute and sounded so much like him it was eerie. I want to mate with this person's voicebox and spawn little Bowie clone dulcet tones.

8. Pre-Strokes Gucci mullets abound.

9. Slam-dancing to rock-n-roll drag queens in a pit of people dressed like aliens.

10. Remembering that when this club closed its doors for good, I felt as if a big piece of the city fell off the map.


2003-10-14 - Last Haiku
2003-10-09 - Don't Cry Out Loud
2003-10-09 - Sit Down, You're Making Me Nervous
2003-10-08 - I'm Sure Miss Thing, I'm Sure
2003-10-07 - Carbonated Water, Caramel Color, Aspartame

index
archives
profile
Uffish
Jonno
Kiera Bombshell
Wonderboy
Dogpoet
email
notes
design
host

chicago blogs