THE GREAT GADFLY:

Friday's Alright For Fiving



When I got to work and the breakfast platter only offered bananas and cruellers, I thought to myself, "what, is this some kind of Mardi Gras thing? Is today Phallic Friday?" Then, I remembered there was a REAL tradition waiting....

1. What was the last song you heard?

Whatever the last song on that Flaming Lips "Yoshimi" album is...I listened to the whole thing on my bus schlep to work this morning. It keeps getting more brilliant with every listen, even though my batteries are starting to go down the dumper and it sounded more than a little lo-fi on this latest listen...it actually kinda enhanced the genius, to be honest.

2. What were the last two movies you saw?

"Adaptation" and "Talk To Her". Well, I saw "24 Hour Party People" on video recently, if you wanna get all technical about it. And I'm sure you do.

3. What were the last three things you purchased?

Money's been tight this week...ummm...a can of diet coke, a bag of some kind of salty nibbly vending machine things, and a breakfast burrito at the Melrose Diner.

4. What four things do you need to do this weekend?

Drunkenly watch Acadamy Award Nominee Queen Latifah host an all-new SNL at my friend Lizzard's; try to get in some time to catch up on my movie-going; send out a couple of musical lovegifts; and of course, there is the omni-present mound of laundry.

5. Who are the last five people you talked to?

Ummm. They were probably all people I work with or people I'm writing with, so there's really not a whole lot for me to say here. Oh, I of course had witty banter with my voluptuous sitcom wife last night, and then our wacky bachelor neighbor dropped by to fill us in on his hot date last weekend. Then Thelma came home upset because she'd gotten mugged again, and Mork threw up at the sight of that.




2003-10-14 - Last Haiku
2003-10-09 - Don't Cry Out Loud
2003-10-09 - Sit Down, You're Making Me Nervous
2003-10-08 - I'm Sure Miss Thing, I'm Sure
2003-10-07 - Carbonated Water, Caramel Color, Aspartame

index
archives
profile
Uffish
Jonno
Kiera Bombshell
Wonderboy
Dogpoet
email
notes
design
host

chicago blogs