THE GREAT GADFLY:

De-Escalation



So I was complaining on here a couple of weeks ago about how when I come and go at my new job, I have to deal with people who stand on the enormous front escalators instead of walk, and how it seems silly to me that people stand still on stairs just because the stairs are moving; and so this morning I was thinking about how this phenomenon could possibly be a metaphor for life. I mean, it's a little telling, isn't it? Maybe the world is made up of walkers and standers. Standers will only take the initiative to move on their own when nothing else will do the movement for them. Walkers keep going, regardless of what's under their feet. Sometimes the sheer bulk mass of a herd of standers forces the relatively sparse population of walkers to succumb to the majority and stand still...but the walkers always get to their destination first.

Or, you know, some people could just be really tired and I could just be a spastic.

After this weekend, I think I finally like that damn Fischerspooner album.


2003-10-14 - Last Haiku
2003-10-09 - Don't Cry Out Loud
2003-10-09 - Sit Down, You're Making Me Nervous
2003-10-08 - I'm Sure Miss Thing, I'm Sure
2003-10-07 - Carbonated Water, Caramel Color, Aspartame

index
archives
profile
Uffish
Jonno
Kiera Bombshell
Wonderboy
Dogpoet
email
notes
design
host

chicago blogs