THE GREAT GADFLY:

Sudden Fiction Eight



She walked the coffee pot over to where the old man sat. He looked up at her with pleading, watery cow eyes.

"You know, don't you," he said to her as she filled his cup, "that inside the nostrils of the presidents carved on Mt. McKinnley, you can find the remains of each of the depicted presidents and the remains of their families to boot."

"Why no," she said, "I wasn't aware of that."

"I think it's damn disrespectful, is what I think," he said, his eyes saying please don't go away. "Nothing but snot and boogers in my nose, don't know about yours."

She smiled at him and walked back to her waitress station. She knew he was lying, or at least misinformed. Strangely, though, she had been giving thought to having her left nostril pierced.

She shrugged it off and went back to work.




2003-10-14 - Last Haiku
2003-10-09 - Don't Cry Out Loud
2003-10-09 - Sit Down, You're Making Me Nervous
2003-10-08 - I'm Sure Miss Thing, I'm Sure
2003-10-07 - Carbonated Water, Caramel Color, Aspartame

index
archives
profile
Uffish
Jonno
Kiera Bombshell
Wonderboy
Dogpoet
email
notes
design
host

chicago blogs