THE GREAT GADFLY:

It's Raining Mensa



I've got some questions guaranteed to shake you up.

I was watching my Alias story on the tee-vee last night and I got to thinking. What if you're a child genius, but your parents aren't really that swift, but you grew up thinking your mom and dad were just, you know, BRILLIANT, and then when you grow up and you're a so-called "adult genius", you realize that maybe you aren't such a genius after all because, well, your parents aren't the bright bulbs you thought they were when you were a kid, and based on that, how bright can YOU be, really? And that makes me think that, well, maybe brilliance and genius are subjective, and the only reason the adult genius doesn't think mom and dad are brilliant anymore is because so many other examples of genius have been pumped through the media, and so the adult genius says, "gee, these geniuses are nothing like my parents. Maybe my parents aren't so sharp after all!" But then, what is the word "subjective" anyway? It's just some idea that a person came up with to allow us to agree to disagree. What if there IS no subjectivity? What IF?! How can a person be an egg, Babs?! How can a person be an egg?!

So last night I used my new blender for the first time. I tried to make cucumber water like what I drank last summer at a really lurvely Mexican tapas restaurant in Wicker Park. How hard could it be? I thought. Well, it wasn't hard at all. It was, in fact, fun. The end result, however, tasted less like a crisp, kicky sha-sha refreshment than it did an oogey-spoogey health drink. I despise the taste of health. Perhaps I needed to add more sugar.

I plan on having a very zen week. I woke up this morning with a line of dialog from Rocky Horror in my head: "It's not easy having a good time...even smiling makes my face ache."




2003-10-14 - Last Haiku
2003-10-09 - Don't Cry Out Loud
2003-10-09 - Sit Down, You're Making Me Nervous
2003-10-08 - I'm Sure Miss Thing, I'm Sure
2003-10-07 - Carbonated Water, Caramel Color, Aspartame

index
archives
profile
Uffish
Jonno
Kiera Bombshell
Wonderboy
Dogpoet
email
notes
design
host

chicago blogs