THE GREAT GADFLY:

Hurting For Cash



The treasures you discover when you're watching MTV2 in the middle of the night, let me tell you. In one singularly inspired block of programming, I viewed videos for "Dust In The Wind" by Kansas (aside from their copious use of dry ice machines, the band clearly had quite the penchant for sky blue prom tuxedos), "Rock 'n' Roll All Night" by KISS, Janis Joplin's "Piece Of My Heart" and "Don't Bring Me Down" by Electric Light Orchestra (I'm not worthy!).

Then I saw something that, I tell you whut, absotively floored me.

It's of the utmost importance that you check out the video for Johnny Cash's version of Nine Inch Nails' "Hurt". Like, now.

Never mind what you think of ol' Uncle Johnny or Trent Reznor or country music or industrial-goth pop music or Rick Rubin or whatever other prejudices may keep you from looking at this video. Just watch the thing and see what I'm hooting about. I think perhaps these sounds and visions could be among the most moving I've ever seen. Just sayin'.




2003-10-14 - Last Haiku
2003-10-09 - Don't Cry Out Loud
2003-10-09 - Sit Down, You're Making Me Nervous
2003-10-08 - I'm Sure Miss Thing, I'm Sure
2003-10-07 - Carbonated Water, Caramel Color, Aspartame

index
archives
profile
Uffish
Jonno
Kiera Bombshell
Wonderboy
Dogpoet
email
notes
design
host

chicago blogs