THE GREAT GADFLY:

Can't Stop The Music



The last time I copped a survey offa this one, people seemed to get all bent out of shape for reasons that still make my vision blur with confusion. Well, I'm doing it again - this time, radiating from the lovely and talented Punkgirly...and if anyone doesn't like it...well, screw ya!

MY TOTALLY AWESOME MUSIC QUIZ #6

+ Reminds you of an ex-lover:

Ummm, the first to come to mind are "Pretty Baby" by Blondie and "Into My Arms" by Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds.

+ Reminds you of an ex-friend:

Fortunately, the ex-friend is becoming an ex-ex-friend: "Contact" by Big Audio Dynamite.

+ Makes you laugh:

Predictably enough, Paul Barman's "Cock Mobster", because his dandy voice makes even the most anti-choice grannies' panties moist.

Though the very mention of the title "Juicy Jungle" (B52s) makes me giggle.

+ Makes you wanna dance:

Oh, lord. Just about anything by Deee-Lite. About 60% of anything by Prince. "Do It Like A Robot" - go baby, go baby, whut. Go, go-go, go, whut.

+ Reminds you of the one you want:

I'm the one that I want. Ooh ooh ooh. The one I need. Oh, yes indeed.

+ You wish you wrote:

Pick any song off any Bowie album between 1976-1980. Yup. That's the one.

+ You never want to hear again:

Anything that becomes a standard at wedding receptions. Electric Slide, Macarena, the Catsup Song. You get the idea.

+ Makes you want to mosh/bang your head:

the ACE OF SPADES! the ACE OF SPADES!!!

+ Sums up your teenage years:

Love & Rockets, "No New Tale to Tell"; The Cure's "In Between Days".

+ You used to hate but now love:

Ummm, I used to hate Shampoo but now I kinda want one of their albums or maybe a Power Rangers soundtrack.

+ You like to wake up to:

Something by Stereolab (RIP Mary) that starts off mellow and droney, then gets progressively more energetic and spastic. The second song from "Sound Dust" is perfect.

+ You like out of your parents record collection:

I was a lucky boy. I learned about music from my mom's music collection: Beatles, Hendrix, Janis Joplin, Parliament Funkadelic, Bootsy's Rubber Band, LOTS of Zappa, Edgard Varese, Bowie, Residents, and a bunch of cool 45s from when she was a girl, which was where I heard Ike & Tina Turner's "Proud Mary" for the first time. That 45rpm single is probably the reason I'm gay. Well, either that or discovering Tina's version of "Acid Queen" on Mom's "Tommy" soundtrack...six of one, half a dozen of the other, really.

+ You love that you wouldn't know about if it wasn't for a friend:

My best gal-pal Ms. Lilah Renay quite successfully put Saint Etienne into perspective for me.

+ Reminds you of your first crush:

I'm so damn old, I don't even remember who my first crush was on. Han Solo, maybe? So I guess the answer would be "The Darth Vader Imperial March Theme".

+ Is from your favorite movie:

"Tea For Two".

+ Makes you think of the stars:

He'd like to come and meet us, but he thinks he'd blow our mind.

+ Makes you think of the sun:

"Christopher Tracy's Parade"

+ Makes you think of the night:

This Mortal Coil's "Blood".

+ Makes you think of being alone:

Just about anything that comes out of the mouth of Mr. Nicolas Cave or came out of the mouth of Mr. Benjamin Smoke.




2003-10-14 - Last Haiku
2003-10-09 - Don't Cry Out Loud
2003-10-09 - Sit Down, You're Making Me Nervous
2003-10-08 - I'm Sure Miss Thing, I'm Sure
2003-10-07 - Carbonated Water, Caramel Color, Aspartame

index
archives
profile
Uffish
Jonno
Kiera Bombshell
Wonderboy
Dogpoet
email
notes
design
host

chicago blogs