THE GREAT GADFLY:

ARE YOU READY FOR SOME MIX-TAPIN'???



THE TIME HAS COME....

After a long, long journey of contemplation and self-discovery, I've finally come to a point in my life where I can put together a fairly coherent and easy-to-grasp plan for a super-duper deluxe fun interactive collaborative mix-tape project. Are you ready? Well, are yah? Huh? HUH?!

Here we go...

All ya gotta do is make a compilation of your favorite music released in 2002. That's it. That's all. Everything else I ranted about, with the instructions and the directives and the hokey-pokey rain dance requests and the sub-instructions and the DNA samples from a strand of your cat's fur and your dental records and all that? Forget about it. It was all just a bad dream.

It's just this simple:

Simply pile up all the music you bought this year that was released in 2002, pick your favorite songs, arrange them all pretty-like, and send the results to me. If you have capabilities to dub your comp to CD-R, it'll make my life a lot easier, but if you're limited to old skool cassette tape lovin', well, I'll figure it out. Either way, when I get your best-of comp, I will then send you MY 2002 fave raves compilation in return. AND:

If I get at least TEN Best-Of 2002 compilations, I will pick my favorite songs from each mix, create a best-of the best-ofs mix, and send THAT out to everyone who participated.

It's called COMMUNITY, people. I get misty-eyed just thinking about it.

Now, this could get ugly if I get too much response, and when/if that happens, I'll letcha know and we'll cross that hemmorhoid when we sit on it. Again: part of the fun of a project like this is not knowing where it will go or what it will mutate into. Hopefully it won't get too over-the-top ugly. But...it's been a project that's taken the form of a wild hair up my bombastic bootay for the past couple of months, and I mule-ishly must see it through.

SO!

Get crackin' with those mix compilations, and when you're ready to shuttle something off to me, simply e-mail me at [email protected] and request my snail-mail address. Then, as soon as I get your musical slab of love in the mail, I'll spit my own Best Of 2002 ouevre back out to ya, and we'll all be dancing to the rhythm of the night, grooving till the morning light. Amen.

Questions?


2003-10-14 - Last Haiku
2003-10-09 - Don't Cry Out Loud
2003-10-09 - Sit Down, You're Making Me Nervous
2003-10-08 - I'm Sure Miss Thing, I'm Sure
2003-10-07 - Carbonated Water, Caramel Color, Aspartame

index
archives
profile
Uffish
Jonno
Kiera Bombshell
Wonderboy
Dogpoet
email
notes
design
host

chicago blogs