THE GREAT GADFLY:

Coming Home



Late last night, on the ride home from work, I spotted a billboard for Jenny Craig featuring Joy Behar from The View. There she was, grinning like a giant demonic goon in her snappy little form-fitting after-picture outfit. It hit me that this picture would resemble exactly what my father would look like if he were ever to do drag. And this thought frightened me. Am I going to age into someone who looks like a Joy Behar drag queen? It was bad enough when I made the realization that my dad looked like Garry Shandling. Now this?

As I walked down the block to my apartment at god o'clock in the evening, I did something geekily indulgent. I listened to "East Hastings" by Godspeed You Black Emperor (yeah, I know there's punctuation in that band's name somewhere, but maybe I don't WANT indie cred, okay?). Walking down the deserted Lakeview street with this music throbbing into my papier mache skull, I pretended I was the last guy on Earth. Or at least in Boystown.

Then I went up to my apartment and had some toast.


2003-10-14 - Last Haiku
2003-10-09 - Don't Cry Out Loud
2003-10-09 - Sit Down, You're Making Me Nervous
2003-10-08 - I'm Sure Miss Thing, I'm Sure
2003-10-07 - Carbonated Water, Caramel Color, Aspartame

index
archives
profile
Uffish
Jonno
Kiera Bombshell
Wonderboy
Dogpoet
email
notes
design
host

chicago blogs