THE GREAT GADFLY:

ENOUGH.



Due to some very disturbing messages I've received recently, I'm in the process of having my guestbook taken down, or at least made private (if such a thing is possible).

For the two-plus years I've been doing this crazy weblog thing, I've gotten my fair share of crackpot Internet hecklers and malcontents, and I've always considered it par for the course of putting one's thoughts out there in a public forum. For the most part, these crank-yankers have been little more than an anklebiting distraction to me and no great discomfort to what I do, considering the many thoughtful and constructive comments I've enjoyed while maintaining my ongoing ramblings. The positive (or at least constructive) feedback has dwarfed the accountability-challenged ramblings of anonymous ill-wishers that pop up every once in a while like a nasty rash, and in some cases, I've engaged my hecklers to an extent that we've ended up getting along in some perversely heartwarming way.

Smug, withering comments by those who question my ability to chain words together is one thing - threats to my well-being are something else completely. I'm not in this to put my life at risk, and there's a line between ascerbic mudflinging and personal safety which I take very seriously. To whomever it is out there who wants to put the fear of God into me, you've achieved your goal. You win. In my estimation, feeling afraid to come home at night isn't worth getting the last word against some unhinged Internet prankster. So, like, fine. Whoever you are, enjoy this: You're ever so much wilier than I'll ever be, and I bow before your acidic superiority. I don't know what I've said or done to inspire such hatefulness, but rest assured that it's never been my intention to cause harm with anything I've ever written. So you win whatever game you wanted to play with me. Now leave me alone.

Violation takes a lot of forms. One thing that violation cannot take away, even in its most harmful drag, is my desire to write. It's the one thing I love, the one thing I've always loved, and the one thing I will never allow anyone to take from me. We're talking "cold dead hands" territory here. And I'm now in a position to take steps to make sure that never happens, at least until fate in its purest form tells me to put down the pen.

There's a certain point where it's not cute anymore. There's a certain point where it becomes harrassment. There's a certain point when it becomes criminal. And I will not allow that point to be reached. Not where I'm concerned, and not where the safety of those who I care about is concerned. Period.

Call me a drama queen. Tell me I'm overreacting. Whatever.

Bottom line: No more threats.

For those of you who haven't abused my guestbook and want to drop me a line in the future, feel free to drop me an e-mail, or if you are a Diaryland member, feel free to use the Notes function. Getting feedback is one of the best parts of throwing my thoughts against the wall, and I appreciate everything you have to contribute.

And that's really all I have to say on the subject.


2003-10-14 - Last Haiku
2003-10-09 - Don't Cry Out Loud
2003-10-09 - Sit Down, You're Making Me Nervous
2003-10-08 - I'm Sure Miss Thing, I'm Sure
2003-10-07 - Carbonated Water, Caramel Color, Aspartame

index
archives
profile
Uffish
Jonno
Kiera Bombshell
Wonderboy
Dogpoet
email
notes
design
host

chicago blogs