THE GREAT GADFLY:

Mekka-Lekka-Hi, Mekka-Johnny-Ho



I am in the midst of a semi-faithful caffeine fast at present, and I have become much gentler, though not necessarily more creative. I have also found that with enough conditioning, decaf coffee stops smelling like cat pee and caffeine free diet coke stops tasting like something one would pour out of an old tire in a junkyard.

I have, however, come up with the idea of keeping a sketchbook in which I juxtapose images and text of corporate motivational propaganda with really bad goth artwork and poetry. I'll letcha know how that's coming along...

Yesterday I scored a copy of The Clash's Sandinista! on CD for a lousy ten bucks. I'm enchanted with this album, as I knew I would be every time I've almost bought this album in the past, but was too much of a wussy-poop to shell out the bucks for a three-record set. If a musical were made of this album, would it be called Sandinista!!? I mean, you know, there's already one exclamation point as it is. Would they have to add a second one? I wish I had a musical theatre stylebook.

I think today may be about finding pictures of Shiva and Kali for my bathroom, because I've decided that the thing to do is for me to enjoy a Hindu loo. Please wish me luck in my endeavors.

With my new job and its new hours and the whole ditching-caffeine thing and whatnot, I feel as if a reset button has been pressed in my brain. I can't really complain about this.


2003-10-14 - Last Haiku
2003-10-09 - Don't Cry Out Loud
2003-10-09 - Sit Down, You're Making Me Nervous
2003-10-08 - I'm Sure Miss Thing, I'm Sure
2003-10-07 - Carbonated Water, Caramel Color, Aspartame

index
archives
profile
Uffish
Jonno
Kiera Bombshell
Wonderboy
Dogpoet
email
notes
design
host

chicago blogs