THE GREAT GADFLY:

I Never Did Anything Out Of The Blue



My current job ends in less than two hours.
In less than an hour and a half, I will engage in my exit interview.
You know, I was never crazy about this job.
I knew this since day one.
It hasn't been horrible -
- in fact, when I was offered this job, it was a godsend;
- in fact, my boss here is one of the best bosses I've ever had;
- in fact, I've been treated to free fruit and pastries every weekday morning;
- in fact, this is the first job I've had in quite some time where I haven't actively feared at least one of my co-workers;
- in fact, it could have been far worse.

Still, though.
Not my scene.
Too much energy to expend for something that doesn't interest me all that much.
Too much room for opportunity for someone who IS interested.
I feel I've spent too much time this year being aggressively dispassionate.
If I'm going to be dispassionate about my job, I want it to come naturally.

A lot of people have been coming up to me today, asking when I start the new job.
I tell them tomorrow.
They seem shocked that I'd start a new job so soon, that I wouldn't take a week or two off.
Maybe I should have done that, I don't know.
It doesn't really matter to me.
It's just another work week in my mind, only tomorrow I go to some other big building downtown and do different work, during a different schedule, with different people around me.

Tomorrow morning, when I wake up, I have the option of turning over and going right back to sleep.
Or I can take a walk to the diner around the corner and read.
Or I can fix some decaf and write.
Or I can walk over to the yoga place and get bendy for a while.
So many options.

Tonight, I can stay up as late as I like.

Give me two months, I'll be complaining about this new schedule and ranting about how my new job will make a drunkard out of me.
Or not.
It's too early to be so cynical.
And anyway -

I'm walking away from a job I knew I didn't like since the first day.

I'm walking away from a schedule I loathe, and walking into a schedule that I've loved in the past.

In the time I've been at my soon-to-be former job, I've learned to like the city in which I live.

It's not so alienating to me here anymore, and I'll walk into the next job with a basic idea of who and what to expect in this urban Jungle of the midwest.

Now that I've written all this, I only have an hour and a half left of my soon-to-be former job.
In less than an hour, I will engage in my exit interview.
Life has been worse.




2003-10-14 - Last Haiku
2003-10-09 - Don't Cry Out Loud
2003-10-09 - Sit Down, You're Making Me Nervous
2003-10-08 - I'm Sure Miss Thing, I'm Sure
2003-10-07 - Carbonated Water, Caramel Color, Aspartame

index
archives
profile
Uffish
Jonno
Kiera Bombshell
Wonderboy
Dogpoet
email
notes
design
host

chicago blogs