THE GREAT GADFLY:

So Wiped Out With Things As They Are



Well.

Over the past two weeks, I feel like I've completely shed my skin and slithered out of the husk shinier and prettier than ever.

Today, I put in my two-weeks notice at my current job.

Oh yes I did.

I'm going back to the word processing biz, after a month of haggling and dialoging with the company I'll be working with and the headhunter who's been helping this new job happen. I'm going to be working weird hours, but not as weird as what I've been used to over the past few years. I'm going to miss a lot of prime time television, but what the hell - I canceled my cable TV last week anyhoo, and since Alias is the only reason I have a TV antenna and it airs on Sundays, I'll just buy a damn TV Pilot (the white trash Tivo, don'tcha know) and be happy as a clam.

Saturday morning I woke up extra early, watched "The Discreet Charm of the Bourgeoise" all the way through for the first time in years, then went on an organizational rampage, unleashing the brilliant energy of re-arranged closet space into my world. Then I dyed the damn grey outta my hair and locked up the NyQuil I'd been swilling over the past week.

I also had some film from my birthday trip to NYC developed over the weekend, and the pictures of me that were returned showed images of a guy whose time it was to go, to be retired, to hit the showers. Maybe that's why I got so deathly sick when I returned. Not sure. All I know is I have good vibes falling out of my ass whereas before it seemed as if a shitty world was collectively trying to cram sunshine up my most private of orifices.

I'm not sure if it's completely because of the new job that I'm feeling so rejuvenated, or if it's something about coming out the other end of a particularly hideous flu, or if it's merely the buzz that comes from the change of seasons. Maybe it's all that. All that and more.

I can't wait for my new work schedule. I get to enjoy mornings and I get to stay up late with precious little consequence. I get to kiss the nine-to-five work commute orgies of fists and elbows buh-bye. I can do tons of things with my mornings now that I will not list here, because I know how my lazy ass is and I know I probably will spend the mornings gobbling Honeycombs cereal and downloading silly remixes, but hey - starting the day with some yoga is now a more attractive possibility. I am considering flirting with some form of "wellness" or "exercise" this fall and winter.

QUIT LAUGHING: I'm already phasing coffee out of my life. That's right. Coffee. (keyword = PHASING)

Something good is going on in my rotting skull. One night last week, right after I turned out the lights to go to bed, an idea for a play smacked me right upside the head. I was sick and wanted sleep, but there it was, giving me no choice. So I switched the light back on, and hunched over a spiral notebook for the next hour and a half, scrawling out the synopsis of a full-length play in longhand. I haven't been smacked upside the head by inspiration quite so hard in ages. AGES, I tell you.

So yes. Things are taking a slow turn for the awfully good in Gadflyland. Not quite sure what that means or how that will materialize, but who cares. Things is good, and it's cuz I says so.

I want to explore the preparation of fresh steamed vegetables this fall. My egg salad and chutney fixation is becoming SO five minutes ago.


2003-10-14 - Last Haiku
2003-10-09 - Don't Cry Out Loud
2003-10-09 - Sit Down, You're Making Me Nervous
2003-10-08 - I'm Sure Miss Thing, I'm Sure
2003-10-07 - Carbonated Water, Caramel Color, Aspartame

index
archives
profile
Uffish
Jonno
Kiera Bombshell
Wonderboy
Dogpoet
email
notes
design
host

chicago blogs