THE GREAT GADFLY:

I Got A Feeder For You To Perch On



I am loved.

For my birthday, I have received a brand-new acoustic guitar and a round-trip ticket to New York from my mother, and from the lovely and talented Tuffy, I have been given two gorgeous mix CDs, an autographed book by Crispin Hellion Glover, a Buzzcocks anthology and a flip-flop keychain, for crying out loud. Just what I've been looking for!!! How did she know? HOW?!

I've been listening to far too much eels music lately. Far too much. Like, steady-diet-of-Shootenanny kind of too much. I think I need to hold an intervention for myself, most likely involving an evening listening to Sheila E. and Shampoo albums.

I watched a documentary downtown last night, about Little Jimmy Scott. I can't say I'm a big fan, but the movie was pretty inspiring. He's close to 80, and only came into his own in the last decade or so. So much for the fetishization of youth, when you have something timeless to give. Very nice.

Did I already say I got an autographed Crispin Glover book for my birthday? Well, I did. An acoustic guitar, too. And I don't even grow another ring in my trunk for another two weeks yet. Too much love. TOO MUCH LOVE!!!

And to think, all I really wanted was a good egg salad sandwich for my birthday. On dark bread, with hot mango chutney and maybe some watercress. And NO CRUNCHIES in the egg salad, thank you. No celery, no pickles.

Maybe it just goes to show, sometimes other people know what I want better than I do.

Well. Okay, then. Thanks abound.


2003-10-14 - Last Haiku
2003-10-09 - Don't Cry Out Loud
2003-10-09 - Sit Down, You're Making Me Nervous
2003-10-08 - I'm Sure Miss Thing, I'm Sure
2003-10-07 - Carbonated Water, Caramel Color, Aspartame

index
archives
profile
Uffish
Jonno
Kiera Bombshell
Wonderboy
Dogpoet
email
notes
design
host

chicago blogs