THE GREAT GADFLY:

Precious Crotchy Metal Moments



I would have to say the most memorable moment of my big happy Gay Pride weekend this year was after the parade itself, having a whiskey-soaked conversation with a self-defined born-again Christian death-metal chick in a local gay bar that usually caters to country & western line dancing, whilst the frolicsome punk rawk barkeep continually twirled his kilt, flashing his goodies at the clientele with all the sassy abandon of a catfight queen in junior high study hall. I was very proud as I masticated that entire tableau. I was beaming. And not just Jim Beaming.

There was a disturbing Hummer to drag queen ratio in Chicago's Pride parade. I think it was something like four Hummers to every one drag queen. Not that there weren't a bevy of wigs on display. I think Hummers look like footlockers on wheels. I'm sure they're very expensive and prestigious and all, in that blingy P. Diddy kind of way and whatnot, so woo-hoo Hummers.

Not much more to say. I had a fine time with the people in my neighborhood yesterday.


2003-10-14 - Last Haiku
2003-10-09 - Don't Cry Out Loud
2003-10-09 - Sit Down, You're Making Me Nervous
2003-10-08 - I'm Sure Miss Thing, I'm Sure
2003-10-07 - Carbonated Water, Caramel Color, Aspartame

index
archives
profile
Uffish
Jonno
Kiera Bombshell
Wonderboy
Dogpoet
email
notes
design
host

chicago blogs