THE GREAT GADFLY:

Tuna Pudding?



I saw something disturbing last night on television, and it wasn't just Cybill Shepherd portraying Martha Stewart on NBC for the better part of two hours.

No, I saw a commercial for StarKist's new tuna in a bag, in which someone was using chopsticks to eat raw tuna from a foil bag.

Now, maybe when the generator to your trailer goes out and you have nothing better to do, you might engage in this practice and call it "sushi night", I don't know. But the way it was done in the commercial - I think the guy was taking a break from his yoga class or something - it was just a bit askew. "Oooh, those sun salutes made me work up a hunger, where's my damn tuna bag?" Normally, you're not supposed to eat before or during your yoga class, but if you're eating tuna out of a bag with chopsticks, I guess they look the other way now.

I will admit, however, that I have been considering frosting a nice red velvet cake using tuna in a bag. I can just see me in the commercial, proud as a clucking hen with my paper knife:

"What is that delicious looking frosting, young man?"

"Oh, it's tuna. Tuna from a bag."

"Tuna cake!" They'll scream. "Oh my god, TUNA CAKE!!!"

Some people, they don't trust my inspirations.


2003-10-14 - Last Haiku
2003-10-09 - Don't Cry Out Loud
2003-10-09 - Sit Down, You're Making Me Nervous
2003-10-08 - I'm Sure Miss Thing, I'm Sure
2003-10-07 - Carbonated Water, Caramel Color, Aspartame

index
archives
profile
Uffish
Jonno
Kiera Bombshell
Wonderboy
Dogpoet
email
notes
design
host

chicago blogs