THE GREAT GADFLY:

Big Girls Do Cry



I just bought me this little treasure offa the eBay...

...it's a photo taken of Edith Massey "having a moment" at her Baltimore thrift shop, "Edith's Shopping Bag". What makes this snapshot even MORE special is that it was taken by Bob Adams, an old-skool Dreamlander who played Ernie in "Female Trouble" ("I'm sure, Miss Thing, I'm sure - pretzels give you plaque!") and one of the goons in "Desperate Living".

The Lady The Eggs Love Most will have a good home in my front hallway, right across from a portrait of Little Edie Beale and under a happy dancing monkey in a bright red frame.

Now if you'll excuse me, I have to go get my hair bleached out by a female impersonator at the Wagonwheel in plenty of time for my boy-date.




2003-10-14 - Last Haiku
2003-10-09 - Don't Cry Out Loud
2003-10-09 - Sit Down, You're Making Me Nervous
2003-10-08 - I'm Sure Miss Thing, I'm Sure
2003-10-07 - Carbonated Water, Caramel Color, Aspartame

index
archives
profile
Uffish
Jonno
Kiera Bombshell
Wonderboy
Dogpoet
email
notes
design
host

chicago blogs