THE GREAT GADFLY:

I Can't Read



I'm in the middle of reading this book, and I hate to say that it's not as funny as I'd hoped. I'm actually a bit startled, because it would seem to me that it would take a great effort for these three not to be unfairly, riotously cackle-worthy at any given time. I was gonna buy this book, but I really couldn't afford to buy two books, so I chose the familiar over the allure of some mysterious crack addict's adrenalin-wrenching, gut-pumping memoirs. And then when when I bought my book, I saw this book on sale for five bucks, and the description on the back cover looked like a hoot. Alas, I opted to be thrifty and so I only bought the one book, which, as I said at the beginning of this diatribe, isn't oh so satisfying. I shoulda bought me the crackhead book after all. I also checked out a book from the library last week about a stripper who goes on a cross-country farewell tour of tittie bars before getting married, but I forget the name of that book so I can't provide a little orange link, and I don't think I'm going to be reading it anyway, though it sounds like a really interesting idea.

Boo-hoo.

Books.


2003-10-14 - Last Haiku
2003-10-09 - Don't Cry Out Loud
2003-10-09 - Sit Down, You're Making Me Nervous
2003-10-08 - I'm Sure Miss Thing, I'm Sure
2003-10-07 - Carbonated Water, Caramel Color, Aspartame

index
archives
profile
Uffish
Jonno
Kiera Bombshell
Wonderboy
Dogpoet
email
notes
design
host

chicago blogs