THE GREAT GADFLY:

Rock Music Ruins Everything



For a lad who's supposed to be saving money for a weekend thrill trip to the big city, I sure do have a lot of fancy new CDs sitting around my apartment. Not to mention a big red ball-shaped boombox. And a printer for my computer. And a new book. And a few bags of brussels sprouts in my freezer. And a block of swiss cheese. And a lamp.

Oh, I'm a bad acorn hoarder. But check out the yummy music I have to show for it:

Ziggy Stardust: The Motion Picture Soundtrack. I already ranted about this a bit recently. The packaging alone is worth the price. You just wanna play with the thing for hours, opening things and folding things and looking at the fancy red CDs and oooh, I think the ink they used to print these up was laced with something because I feel pretty....

Sonic Youth: Dirty (Deluxe Edition). Oh holy crap, I've been waiting for this one to come out for ages, and here it finally is. And not a spec of disappointment was had upon the mangling of the shrinkwrap and the revving of the hi-fi. Again - fantabulous packaging...I'm a sucker for CD/album design, so sue my superficial ass...and an entire 70+ minute second disc of b-sides, outtakes and assorted hullaballoo from the time during which Dirty was recorded. Wunnerful liner notes with purty pictures and a long-ass essay on the album, with notes from Thurston Moore and Lee Ranaldo. It's a Goo-gasm fer shure, kool things.

Spiritualized: The Complete Works, Volume One. I have no idea what this is all about, but it was two discs for the price of one, and I love Spiritualized, so my Pavlovian behavior kicked in and so it plays at this very moment, as I tippety-type my life away. I think it's a compilation of singles and b-sides and such. It's all gorgeous and depressing and if I pay too much attention to it I get slack-eyed and start floating up to my private happy safe place where, oh, hmmm, I like the color of my ceiling. It would be nice if I had some shirts that color. I like shirts. I'm glad someone invented shirts. They're nice. In the winter I like big heavy shirts. I would like a big heavy green shirt next winter, the same color as my ceiling. I...oh...

Yeah. It's a lovely recording. Sucks you right in, it does.

I nearly bought yet another CD merely because of its cover art and song titles, which featured references to big fat booties and something called, like, "You Get No Love". The name of the band is Soft Pink Truth and the album is called Do You Party?. Any yays or nays from the peanut gallery?

Oh, and my printer works now, thanks to the nice people at Radio Shack who also tried to sell me a cellphone and a satellite dish. I told them I had no need of such earthly possessions, so just hurry up and sell me the damn USB cable so I can go home and listen to my new CDs on my new boombox and read my recent literature purchases. Satellite dish indeed. Materialist scum!




2003-10-14 - Last Haiku
2003-10-09 - Don't Cry Out Loud
2003-10-09 - Sit Down, You're Making Me Nervous
2003-10-08 - I'm Sure Miss Thing, I'm Sure
2003-10-07 - Carbonated Water, Caramel Color, Aspartame

index
archives
profile
Uffish
Jonno
Kiera Bombshell
Wonderboy
Dogpoet
email
notes
design
host

chicago blogs